Sunday, November 13, 2011

Review: My Love Eternal by Liz Strange (reviewed by Trudy Powders)

  • Format: Kindle Edition
    File Size: 631 KB
    Publisher: Lyrical Press, inc. (January 28, 2010)
    Sold by: Amazon Digital Services
    Language: English
    ASIN: B004GHN4UQ
    Available from: Amazon

    Blood, sex and eternal life... What more could a girl ask for?

    Tall, dark, and sexy, as well as fabulously wealthy, Giovanni is everything a girl could ask for in a lover. There's only one catch. He's been undead for more than three hundred years. When Rachel is drawn into Giovanni's world, she learns that the rules of human existence mean nothing in the world of vampires. This, however, is a fair price to pay for a love that will last forever.

    Hunted by the Desmarais family, who carry a centuries-old vendetta, Rachel and Giovanni travel to the ends of the earth in order to stay one step ahead. Can their love survive, or will their eternity together end?


The lead female in this book is named Rachel, she works at the morgue and her roommates name is Shannon. Rachel enjoys her job and the quiet. After Rachel has a visit from a beautiful stranger she starts to have "episodes “of being in another place and time. His name is Giovanni. This book contains one of the sexiest Transformations I have ever read. The book flashes to ten years later. I'm having a problem with these two vampires still killing to feed. Rachel follows Giovanni and becomes a prisoner of Giovanni’s maker .Giovanni tells Rachel to run and she leaves her love behind. Rachel finds a young boy and gives him shelter and takes him home. They reunite Rachel explains about the boy and they choose to raise him, they all live happily together until the evil Desmarais family attacks, Giovanni is taken and his maker arrives and becomes a companion to Rachel and her son Eli. They leave England and Rachel and Eli's relationship changes and the three of them are together trying to survive. Eli doesn’t kill when he feeds and is now in college. Rachel misses Giovanni and has begun her writing again. Rachel who is still heartbroken from the loss of Giovanni still seeks him out in the darkest of nights. I liked this book but was not impressed with the transformation of Eli. This book is for adult readers only.
I give this book 3 of 5 stars. Book Reviewed by Trudy Powders for Strange Candy Reviews

Friday, October 28, 2011

Interview with Traci Harding

Welcome to Strange Candy Reviews, Traci. Thank you for taking the time to answer some questions.

My pleasure, Jo-Anne.  Thank you for promoting Australian books and authors J

For readers who haven’t heard of you, can you give us a quick overview of your books?
Gosh, I hope you mean the titles and not the storylines!

I’m an Australian science-fantasy author, who has fifteen books in publication on the Voyager label of HarperCollins Publishers (four trilogies and three stand alone novels). My next book ‘The Light-field’ will be released in Feb 2012, with another trilogy ‘The Timekeepers’ to follow.

My first book The Ancient Future has featured regularly on the Dymocks’ Top 101 Books.  It also made the ABC’s Lists, ‘Most Loved Books of All Time’, ‘Favourite Australian Book’ and has been reprinted over 35 times.  Along with my stand alone novel The Alchemist's Key, The Ancient Future has been published in Complex Chinese.  The Mystique Trilogy is published in Russian, Czech, Slavic, and Romanian.

The Ancient Future Trilogy, Mystique Trilogy and the Triad of Being have been published in E-book format, and my second Trilogy The Celestial Triad and the stand alone novels will be released on E-book in 2012.

The Ancient Future, Gene of Isis and Being of the Field are released in Audio Book format through Bolinda Audio and are available through iTunes and Amazon as a Digital download.

The Alchemist’s Key is currently optioned to ‘Dragonlight Productions’ and is being developed as a feature film project. 


Have you ever had to do any kind of research for your books?
I have had to do all kinds of research for my books, everything from the ancient mysteries, esoteric, occult, and various religious doctrines, (including the Australian aboriginal dreamtime).  I’ve also researched the ancient cultures of the Celts of Britain, the legends of Atlantis, ancient Egypt, Rome, Sumeria and most recently … well, I can’t really say as that would be a spoiler.  All this research is due primarily to the reincarnating and time traveling tendencies of my characters.  Most of my books are set, or visit, other dimensions, galaxies, universes, the future and levels of consciousness, so there is also a huge amount of scientific research involved, particularly quantum physics.

What’s your favourite genre to write about? 
Time travel is a theme I toy with often in my tales, and as I cannot seem to stay on this planet in the present day, science-fantasy is the only genre for me!  When a reader opens one of my books they expect to be swept away on an adventure to another time and place entirely, have their concept of life and reality broadened by the experience, and have a frolicking good time in the bargain - I aim to deliver just that.

In your opinion what makes for great lead characters? 
Given that my books have a spiritual undertone, I need a lead character who leads by example.  Someone with good moral fiber, an open mind, respect for others and the heart and belief in themselves, to follow their personal life quest, no matter how challenging.
What, for you, determines a characters personality? Are they ever inspired by people you know or meet?
My characters are nearly always inspired by people I know, have known, or wish to know.  Their personality is determined by their past really, and many of my characters have a very long history.

Is there a certain type of music you listen to when writing?
Always!  When I was in Celtic Britain it was Clannad and Loreena McKennitt – for Atlantis it was the Dead Can Dance - in space it was Pink Floyd and Brian Eno and for the future, just about anything chill.  In my forthcoming book, ‘the Light-field’ I was actually granted permission to use lyrics from a song by Lindsay Tomasic called ‘Starman’, who is one the characters in the book.  We think this the first time a music artist and an author have collaborated at the book stage of a story!  I say collaborated as Lindsay’s song actually influenced my storyline, so I had to use it J  At present, I am listening to loads of … well, I can’t really tell you that either, as that would be a spoiler too!

NOTE :  I listen to music to formulate the story – when I’m in my car etc – but when I actually write I prefer silence.  I find music invokes the story, so if I forget where the story was going, I’ll go back and listen to the music and that will remind me.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?
The most amazing thing my characters have taught me is that I create my own reality. Not only that, but they taught me how to create a better life for myself, and according to my readers I am not the only one they have influenced to make changes to their attitude, beliefs, job, religion, partner, life path etc for the better – my characters are a very inspiring lot.

How did you feel the first time your book was accepted for publishing?
It was of course very exciting, but as the late and very great Steve Jobs advised, “Never dwell on any of your successes too long – always be looking to the next project.”  That is me to a T.  When HarperCollins accepted my first book for publication, it was a one book deal; so for me there was a real sense that it was ‘game on’ if I washed to make a career out of writing.  I was already halfway through writing the next book by the time HarperCollins were asking me for more, and I haven’t stopped writing since!  To make it as a writer in this country you have to have that kind of dedication, but then I do LOVE my work.
What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?
Well, I don’t know how many writers strike up conversations with their characters, but I do it all the time.  Much like a clairvoyant would invoke a spirit, I’ll call in one of my characters for a chat, and roll play a scene or conversation that I think needs to take place, or ask the character questions that might help sort out the plot.  Obviously, this is a practice best left for when you are alone J

What do you like to do when your not writing?
Outside of writing I spend as much time as I can with my children, doing the family thing.  To keep fit I do a Pilates routine, at least three times a week, that was put together for me by a dear friend – thanks Lisa!  The trouble with being self-employed is that you never really stop working – well, me anyway.  As I mentioned above, no sooner have I finished one story than I am starting on the next one - or at least heavily researching for it - so I don’t get to do much pleasure reading either!  Still, when I do, I like to read books by local Aussie authors.  Some of those I’ve read most recently are Kim Wilkins aka Kimberley Freemen, Belinda Alexandra, Grant Hyde, Christopher Ride, Jessica Shirvington and Kate Morton.  I do manage to get a bit of socializing into my schedule, and there is nothing I enjoy more than like together with a few friends over Strawberry Margaritas!

Thanks for the chance to chat, Jo-Anne.  If your readers would like to know more about me they can visit my new website :
Or the Traci Harding Message Boards at Trazling Castle :
Or my Face book Pages -
Traci Harding Fans :
Trazling on Facebook
The Alchemist’s Key Movie

I do have some special things happening over Xmas this year in the lead up to the release of the third book of the Triad of Being - ‘The Light-field’ in February 2012 – so if readers will check in with any of the above sites they won’t miss out on any of the excitement!

Monday, October 10, 2011

Interview & giveaway with M.J Scott

Welcome to Strange Candy Reviews, M.J. Thanks for joining us!

Thanks for having me on your blog!

For those who have not yet heard about your book, can you tell us a bit about it?

Shadow Kin is a dark fantasy. It’s about a half-Fae assassin who botches her current assignment. Because of that her world begins to fall apart.

How did you feel when your book had been picked for publishing?

Thrilled! I was at work and got an email from my agent that said we had an offer. I had to casually stroll off to a meeting room so I wouldn’t start jumping up in down in the middle of the office. Though by the time I got the final offer it was more thrilled and exhausted as it was a two week process that involved many sleepless nights!

What has been the most exciting thing that has happened to you since your book was released?

Having a book launch a few weeks ago was lots of fun—there was a queue of people to get a signed copy. But really, just knowing that people are reading and liking the book is the most exciting part.

I love the world and characters you have created in Shadow Kin. How did the idea for it come about?

It was one of those books that sprang up from nowhere. I’d written two books in an urban fantasy series that was being shopped by my agent and another more futuristic urban fantasy and was trying to figure out what to write next, playing with a few ideas. Then one night I was lying in bed, almost falling asleep and a voice in my head literally said “revenge is silent”. At first I almost ignored it but then the voice said it again and I started thinking “why is revenge silent?” and started to get the first scene and had to get up and write for an hour or so. By the time I’d finished that scene I had my heroine and hero and the basics of the world. Which is a longwinded way of saying “I don’t really know with this one”.

Is there one place you'd love to go but have never been before?

I’d love to go to Tuscany. Whenever I see pictures of that region in magazines or movies, it just looks beautiful. I want to live in a villa in Tuscany and eat great food for a few months.

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

I wrote my first stories when I was quite young…around seven or eight. I wrote stuff off and on throughout high school but then did the sensible thing and picked a sensible career. Because working writers were sort of fabled mythical creatures. But the stories never really went away and I decided I really wanted to give it another go about ten years ago.

What is your work schedule like when you're writing?

I still have a part time day job, so it varies. On day job days I write after work (and sometimes on the train or at lunch if I really need the time). I try and do four pages or so on those days. On non day job days, I tend to write in the afternoons (and sometimes at night). My muse, like me, is not a morning person. I aim for more pages on those days.

What do you think makes a good story?

For me, it’s the characters. Give me interesting characters doing interesting things and make me care about them. Make them real and flawed and entertaining. If you do that and have good world building, I don’t mind the odd plot hole and will read away happily. But if you have a brilliant plot but boring characters (or worse boring characters and boring plot) chances are that book is not going to be finished.

If you could tell aspiring writers one thing, what would it be?

Listen to your stories to find what you really want to write, write a LOT, read a LOT, do whatever you can do to learn about writing and publishing and don’t give up.

Name five things you can't live without.

Books, my cat, my iPod, dark chocolate and a computer.

M.J Scott is an unrepentant bookworm. Luckily she grew up in a family that fed her a properly varied diet of books and these days is surrounded by people who are understanding of her story addiction. When not wrestling one of her own stories to the ground, she can generally be found reading someone else’s. Her other distractions include yarn, cat butlering, dark chocolate and fabric. She lives in Melbourne, Australia. Her website is

Leave a comment with your email to win a copy of Shadow Kin from The Book Depository! Giveaway is international and ends 21st October! Just for fun, what are five things you can't live without?

Thursday, October 6, 2011

Review: Montana Wildfire by Rebecca Sinclair

Title: Montana Wildfire
Author: Rebecca Sinclair
Release date: June 9th 2011
Publisher: ePublishing Works
Available from: Amazon - Kindle edition
Amazon UK - Kindle edition
I received this book from the author.

After her father's sudden death, lovely Amanda Lennox had no money for the long trip from Boston to the ranch she'd inherited in faraway Seattle. When she sawa the advertisement for a "wilderness expert" to escort eleven-year-old Roger Bannister III to Montana, the adventure-loving beauty jumped at the chance, never guessing that she'd end up lost in the wilds of Idaho...with a twisted ankle. Then an arrogant halfbreed on a palomino stallion came to her rescue and comforted her with his healing touch. Amanda offered him a chaste kiss in gratitude, but the savage's sensuous gaze and rippling muscles aroused her maidenly passion. Tomorrow she'd be back in the saddle, but tonight she'd surrender to his fiery caresses and let him carry her over the threshhold of ecstasy, lost in his wild, rapturous embrace!

Rugged ranchhand Jacob Blackhawk Chandler knew from past experience that prissy white princesses meant trouble. He'd seen Amanda Lennox's type before-haughty and citified and utterly unequipped to survive in the wide open country. He couldn't just ride off and leave the lovely minx alone and hurt, but he sure wouldn't be taken in by that sweet come-hither smile! Then he lifted her from her horse, laid her on the soft ground to tend her swollen ankle, and felt a jolt of desire. Tomorrow he'd point her in the direction of Montana, but tonight he'd kiss that luscious body from head to toe, capture her heart in a storm of passionate caresses, and show the Boston belle a night of ecstasy she'd never matter what state she was in!

Montana Wildfire is a little slow to start off, but don't give up or you will be missing out on a great read. Jake and Amanda have serious chemistry right from the get go, but they spend most of the book dancing around each other. You can almost cut the air with the tension these two generate. I loved Amanda's spunk and stubborn streak, although it gets her into a bit of trouble. She's not afraid to stand up for herself and has a tendency to speak before she thinks. Jake is majorly swoon worthy. His character is a force to be reckoned with, but as much as he tries to hide it, you get to see his vulnerability and it adds to his appeal. He is sex on legs and Amanda has a hard time dealing with him. Montana Wildfire is such and apt name for this book as these two set the pages alight! I think my Kindle almost short circuited! The setting is a great backdrop and conjured images of the wild west for me. I'm not a huge fan of historical romances, but if there are more like this then I'll definitely be reading them! So if you are after a steamy, sexy read grab a copy of Montana Wildfire.

Tuesday, October 4, 2011

Win a signed copy of the Goblin King by Shona Husk!

I am meeting Shona Husk this Saturday, so I thought I'd have a giveaway. To win a personalised signed copy of the Goblin King just leave your name and email in a comment. It's international and ends midnight Friday my time. You won't get any extra entries, but I would be grateful if you helped spread the word!

Saturday, October 1, 2011

BBA host for October

This month at the Book Bloggers Anonymous Goodreads group we are reading Working Stiff by Rachel Caine. If you'd like to join in, click on the BBA button on my sidebar that will take you directly to the Goodreads group. We will be reading Working Stiff from 1st - 15th October, then we have chapter discussions at BBA. As I am hosting this months BBA on my blog here, I'm hoping to have some fun stuff up over the next month, so stop by and I hope you'll join in!

Wednesday, September 28, 2011

Interview & giveaway with Rebecca Sinclair

Here at Strange Candy reviews, I was lucky enough to interview Rebecca Sinclair. Rebecca is the author of 13 romance books. I have been lucky enough to be sent a review copy of Montana Wildfire, which has been released as an ebook.

Welcome to Strange Candy Reviews, Rebecca. Thank you for taking the time to answer some questions.
Hi and thank you for asking me, it's great to be here! :)
For readers who haven’t heard of you, can you give us a quick overview of your books?
Sure. I've written 13 historical romances of the hot, sexy, steamy variety. Some are set in the 19th century American West, some in the 16th century on the turbulent Scotland/England border. I know that sounds strange, the two time periods/settings being so dissimilar in just about every way, but I thrive on the variety.
Have you ever had to do any kind of research for your books?
Tons! I do an abundant amount of research for each and every book. Only by thoroughly and immersing myself in whatever time period/setting I'm writing in do I feel I can do the same for my reader. It is my job to make my reader, say, feel the crisp, dry paper crackling beneath his fingertips, smell the layers of dust and disuse in the air. The only way I can only do that sometimes is if I know what these things feel and smell like myself, and for many things, the way I find out is research. Going to libraries, museums, taking house tours or traveling and visiting scenic areas. Often times we plan vacations around places I need to research for my current book. Or I plan my books around upcoming research/vacation trips.
Lately it seems urban fantasy/paranormal romance books have taken over. Why do think that is and would you ever consider writing one?
They really have. Isn't it great? Speaking in terms of romances, I think that in a good paranormal it is exactly those paranormal elements that bring a sense of the unearthly and magical and impossible to life in the reader's mind, providing a light of deep escapism in the otherwise dark and dreary tunnel of day-to-day existence. And is it any wonder? With the current wars, gas prices topping $3.00/gal, and the American economy tanking, a deeper form of escapism in the shape of some good, and solid paranormal/fantasy you can really sink your teeth into seems like just what the doctor ordered. Who couldn't use a dose of that right about now?
As for your second question, I did. I wrote two. The first is a sexy historical romance time-travel (I consider time-travel to be only the fringe of paranormal, btw.) The manuscript is on my agent's desk. I'm also proud to have completed my first contemporary YA (much more paranormal in nature), which, of course, is sitting right next to my time-travel on my agent's desk. Both are as yet untitled.
I really enjoyed Jacob & Amanda’s characters from Montana Wildfire. In your opinion what makes for great lead males and females? 
Thank you for saying so, that means a lot to me! :) For lead characters I am drawn to three qualities: strength, humor and flaws. Strength is a character's storyteller, it speaks in word or deed where the character has been, how much the character can endure and where their breaking point is. Humor is intrinsic to every human being at birth, real or fictional—so if a character has entirely lost his sense of humor, I guarantee there's an intriguing story there. It is flaws, I think, that really define a lead character for me. Flaws intensify every aspect of a character; their speech patterns, mannerisms, how they react to things, how they think. Flaws can affect something as simple as preparing a meal. In one book, I had a heroine who had been burned in a house fire and who, even years later, was still tormented by the event. Imagine her cooking around an open campfire! That this character was an excellent cook—very calm, very precise, and fearless around the flames--spoke volumes about her.
What, for you, determines a characters personality? Are they ever inspired by people you know or meet?
Using “real” people could potentially cause too many legal headaches. Besides, it's much more fun to steal an interesting quirk in someone' real's personality and imbue it in one of my fictional characters. It could be a main flaw, a hidden weakness, or—you decide! What really matters is how the character I create slowly grows around the borrowed trait. Or despite it. That growth is part of their own personal journey through the book.
There are several things that determine a character's personality for me. The book's time period/setting, plot, theme, tone, etc. are very important. Also, in a romance, I need to know and gauge the personality (and wants, needs, and secret desires) of their perspective mate. That adds into the equation. I believe in HEA, so I know at the end of the book these two people are going to fall in love and end up together. Forever. Forever's a long time, so their personalities damn well better be compatible in more ways than just really great sex!
Who or what inspires your writing and why? Is there a certain type of music you listen to when writing?
Music inspires my writing, definitely. I really can't specify what type of music because it varies depending on the book I'm writing. They're like your own kids; they're all different. Visuals, OTOH, now they really inspire me. I have two cork boards hung near my work computer , eye level to where I sit so I can see them at all times. On them I have pictures of people—lots and lots of pictures! I don't know about you, but I'm the sort to embarrass hubby by snipping pic out of magazines in the doctor's office. I'll print out one I like from the Internet. Anywhere I spy a picture that speaks to me, and I think I can get away with it, I snag the pic and sneak it home. I'm not particular. These pictures can vary widely in content. Some are the expected glam shots of the hottest new celebrities (male, female, old, young, a historic figure, someone contemporary in the news), while others are the ads for the latest-greatest perfumes or sports coats. So long as the picture pushes my emotional buttons and somehow wordlessly conveys the feel, deep at the bottom of my stomach, for the book I'm working on. Each book has its own cork board. The pictures aren't recyclable.
What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?
That there was really a town called Pony in Montana in 1878. Pony! Who’ve thought it! I'd pulled the name out of a hat with every intention of making the town up. No one was more surprised than me to find an actual town on the map with that same name, located in approximately the same place I'd decided, pre-research, to set down my Pony. It was back to the research books for me—if there was a real town named Pony, I was going to use it, so I'd better know about all about it. For another book, I found out the number of people who actually died on the Overland Trail crossing their way to the California gold mines (or to “see the elephant”, as some called it); the total was heartbreaking because it was so high. I can honestly say, for each book I've written, I've learned at least one exciting new something.
Do you still get excited when your novels are accepted for publishing?
Every. Single. Time. :) Honestly, I'm crazy. I'm like a small child on her birthday that got the gift she secretly wanted but wasn't expecting: excited, emotional, deliriously happy … and at the same time scared so bad my knees shake when it really dawns on me there people other than myself and a select few reading my book.
What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?
I wasn't sure about this, so I asked hubby to help me out. After refusing to print his first response, here's his second. “She likes to listen to weird music over and over again, constantly, constantly, on repeat, so much that everyone in the house is sick of it to the point where we beg her to please, please, wear your headphones. The Sarah Brightman Incident comes to mind. Ahem.” My reaction? Humph!
What do you like to do when you're not writing?
I love spending time with my family. I also love the Internet. A lot. Keep in mind I've been online since the '80s. I cut my teeth on the big three: AOL, GEnie, and CompuServe. Modern day social networking sites like G+, Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads, which a lot of writers think are time-sinks, I enjoy. Depending on what you use them for, those sites can be a smart way to keep your mind limber and your writing sharp when taking a break.
Growing up did you always know you were going to be a writer and did you have favorite genre you liked to read/write about? 
No. Growing up I always wrote, but I never thought I could be an actual get-paid-to-do-it writer. Things like that happened to other people, and I was fine with that. Then, in my early 20s, after a series of personal tragedies, as I was writing through my feelings one day, a light bulb turned on. I suddenly realized there was absolutely no valid reason I couldn't be a real writer. The only thing holding me back was me. I knuckled down and wrote specifically for publication from then on, and I haven't looked back since.
I don't really have a favorite genre. I strongly favor historical, but also enjoy paranormal. I favor romances, but also enjoy classics (Dickens is a favorite). I favor Young Adult, but I also an occasional have been known to pick up a Sci-Fi. Basically, I'll read anything. If I'm stuck in the car while hubby pumps gas, I'll soak up the car's owner's manual; in the grocery store in the long checkout line, I'll scan the nutritional value of a can of beans, or evaluate the unpronounceable ingredients in a Snickers Bar. Also, I'm very much a product of my generation. While I can entertain myself endlessly by mentally juggling characters and plots for my books, outside of that I get bored easily. When I am writing a book, however, hubby tells me I often stare off into space for so long he wonders sometimes if I'm in need of medical attention. In reality I'm holding an imaginary casting call for characters, or letting dialogue trickle like fish in a stream, or untying an unexpected plot twist. In the end, though, whether it's what someone else has written for me or what I have written for someone else, it all boils down to two things: My incessant fascination with words, and, as in the case of this interview, my blatant disregard for word count. <Wince>
Again, thank you for having me! Your readers are invited to stop by my new Facebook page ( and say hello, “like” me if they don't mind, and just get a general feel for the layout Heather Powers so skillfully set up for me. In the very near future I'll be running contests, giving away free books (traditional and e-pubbed), and doing all those things authors do … so stop back often! :)

Leave a comment with your email to win a book! Giveaway is international and ends 8/10.

Sunday, September 11, 2011

Review: Blood of the Demon

Title: Blood of the Demon (Demons of Infernum book 1)
Author: Rosalie Lario
Release date: August 2nd 2011
Publisher: Entangled Publishing
Available from: Amazon - Kindle edition
Amazon UK - Kindle edition
Book Depository

I received this ebook from the publisher.

Keegan lives to exact revenge on the evil demon who sired and abused him. When his father devises a plan to bring on the apocalypse, he and his three half-brothers, interdimensional bounty hunters for the Elden Council, are charged with capturing and delivering their father for punishment.
Art gallery owner Brynn Meyers has no idea that her ability to read memories embedded in objects and drain people of their life force means she has demon ancestry. Unfortunately for Brynn, she’s also the key to raising an ancient zombie army, which puts her on every demon’s Most Wanted List.
And no one wants her more than Keegan’s father.
Keegan must protect Brynn from his father by any means necessary, but he’ll have to learn to harness the other half of his genetics—the far deadlier, uncontrollable half—when he starts to fall for the one woman standing between him and the vengeance he so desperately seeks. The one woman he’ll never be able to resist.
Blood of the Demon has cemented its self as one of my favourite books of the year. Keegan is the oldest of four sexy demon brothers. He's strong, complex and very alpha. He does have a tendency to close himself and put his brothers before himself. I really enjoyed his protectiveness over his brothers and how he was willing to do anything to keep them safe. Then along comes a woman that tempts like never before. Too bad she's the key to the apocalypse. He does everything in his power to avoid falling for her. Brynn is feisty and not afraid to make her opinions heard against a group of pushy, overbearing males. I think she handles her new position as the key to the apocalypse pretty well. Sparks fly between her and Keegan immediately, and their interactions are fantastic. I also enjoyed Keegan's brothers and can't wait to read about them in their own books. Their father is evil to the core and will stop at nothing to get what he wants. You can't help but feel for his sons and what he put them through. I'd love to bring one of them home and look after him.
The story is great, with plenty of action, drama and sizzling between-the-sheets antics. If you're a fan of Larissa Ione or Eve Silver, then Blood of the Demon will be right up your alley. 

Thursday, August 11, 2011

Guest post by Rosalie Lario

Why I Love Paranormal Romance

In honor of my recent release, Blood of the Demon, a paranormal romance featuring four sexy, half-demon brothers, I thought I’d talk today about some of the reasons why I love paranormal romance.
I've been fascinated with the paranormal ever since my childhood days of watching reruns of The Munsters on television. Tales of vampires, werewolves, and witches thrilled me almost as much as they terrified me. Even better were the less traditional horror baddies like mummies, trolls, or goblin kings. There was something so fun about being able to pretend that these beings actually existed.
That childhood fascination never died off for me. In the 80s it was movies like The Lost Boys and Labyrinth. In the 90s Ghost and The Mummy (still one of my all-time favorites). I also loved the paranormal in books, going from Bunnicula to Ann Rice (and yes, I know what a big jump that is).
Then I discovered romance, and a whole new love was born. Paranormal creatures as heroes instead of villains? Swoon! I’ve been addicted ever since. There’s something about taking a tortured supernatural hero and giving him a HEA that I cannot resist. Maybe it’s the idea that every being needs love—or the thought of everlasting love—that makes this concept so irresistible to me. Whatever it is, my love for paranormal romance (like so many of the genre’s heroes and heroines) will not die.
I discover new and wonderful paranormal romance authors all the time, but some of my current favorite are Jeaniene Frost (especially her Night Huntress series, which features the most swoon-worthy hero I’ve ever read about), Karen Marie Moning (her earlier Highlander series, has some super-hunky Alpha heroes), and Larissa Ione (hot demons running a demon hospital).
It was my love of demons as heroes that led me to create my DEMONS OF INFERNUM series. The demons in my world aren’t evil creatures from Hell, but a race of beings from another dimension. And let me tell you, they are super hot!
In Blood of the Demon, Keegan lives to exact revenge on the evil demon who sired and abused him. When his father devises a plan to bring on the apocalypse, he and his three half-brothers, interdimensional bounty hunters for the Elden Council, are charged with capturing and delivering their father for punishment.
Art gallery owner Brynn Meyers has no idea that her ability to read memories embedded in objects and drain people of their life force means she has demon ancestry. Unfortunately for Brynn, she’s also the key to raising an ancient zombie army, which puts her on every demon’s Most Wanted List.
And no one wants her more than Keegan’s father.
Keegan must protect Brynn from his father by any means necessary, but he’ll have to learn to harness the other half of his genetics—the far deadlier, uncontrollable half—when he starts to fall for the one woman standing between him and the vengeance he so desperately seeks. The one woman he’ll never be able to resist.
Are you a fan of paranormal romance? If so, what makes it so great for you?

Rosalie Lario practiced law for five years before finally admitting to herself that negotiating contracts wasn’t nearly as fun as dreaming up stories. The first book in her Demons of Infernum series, Blood of the Demon, will be released August 2011.

Saturday, August 6, 2011

Adrian Phoenix Giveaway.

There was supposed to be a guest post from Adrian, but she is on deadline until the end of August, so she has kindly still offered to do a giveaway and will be back at the end of September with her guest post. (It's going to be a good one, too.) 
Adrian Phoenix is one of the best dark urban fantasy writers around. If you haven't read her books, what are you waiting for? Sexy characters, plenty of action, awesome story lines and great settings. 
 You can read a chapter from the first book in The Maker’s Song series. Here’s a link to the first chapter of A Rush of Wings.

Here’s the first chapter of Black Dust Mambo. (Hoodoo Book 1)

And the first two chapters of Black Heart Loa. (Hoodoo Book 2)

Black Heart Loa is also a July featured read on’s Paranormal & Urban Fantasy online book club. Feel free to join the discussion!
 You can find me at:
 Adrian is giving one winner a signed set of the Hoodoo series (Black Dust Mambo & Black Heart Loa) and two winners will get a choice of any of Adrian's books. 
So, what do you have to do to win? Well it's easy, just leave a comment with your email and tell me if you're a new follower or an old one!

Giveaway is international and ends 13th August.

Wednesday, June 22, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine.

The Goblin King by Shona Husk
Publication Date: October 1st 2011

Cursed by a Druid millennia ago, Roan lives a bleak existence in the Shadowlands, desperately trying to retain his soul and not succumb to the goblin horde. When a beautiful human summons him to grant a wish, he sees a glimmer of hope. But will she ever agree to be his queen?

I have been neglecting this blog a little, but I am trying to catch up. So I'm starting with a new WoW post. I'm sorry to all my followers. 

I read a novella by Shona Husk, and really enjoyed it. I can't wait until this is released. What are you waiting on?

Saturday, June 18, 2011

Review: How to Breathe Fire by Shona Husk

By: Shona Husk
Type: eBook
Genre: Fantasy, Sweet Romance, Angels & Demons, Magical Happenings
Publisher: Samhain Publishing, Ltd.
Publication Date: 01-18-2011
Length: Novella
ISBN: 978-1-60928-334-6
Available from: Samhain Publishing
Amazon Kindle

Freedom comes with a blistering price… 

For as long as she can remember, Camea has longed to explore the world beyond the island kingdom of Adar. It is an impossible dream, especially if she follows tradition and marries the farmer her parents have selected for her. But then, Camea has never been one to follow expectations. When the village witch announces she has been selected to be the Fire God’s next bride, Camea has no intention of sacrificing her life to appease the volcano. She plans to escape and follow the Stars to her dream. Matai, once a prince of Adar, now pays a fiery penance for seducing one of the Fire God’s witches. He must take a new bride each year, then kill her—or condemn Adar to the lava. Unlike his past brides Camea doesn’t shed one tear for her fate, nor does she beg for her life. In the face of death she sees the remnants of the man he used to be—and a way to save them both from the Fire God’s never-ending cycle of wrath. If Matai has the courage to trust his heart. 
How to Breathe Fire is a wonderful short read. I really liked the fantasy element, with our heroine being sacrificed to the Fire God who watches over her home. Camea is not like most other young women, she has big dreams and tries to concoct a plan to escape. She's a strong character, willing to fight for what she believes in and is willing to use her assets to get her freedom. She doesn't count on her feelings getting in the way of her plans. Matai has lived for hundreds of years and is tired of his existence. He's shocked when he takes Camea as his bride. She isn't like any of the others. Matai is literally smokin' hot and together they light up the pages. I find with novellas that I'm really getting into the story and characters then its over. It's hard to get too invested in them. Although How to Breathe Fire is one I recommend getting your hands on. I am looking forward to Shona's first full length novel later this year.

Thursday, June 9, 2011

Review: The Vampire's Warden by S.J Wright

Title: The Vampire's Warden - Undead in Brown County 1
Author: S.J Wright
Release Date: February 13th 2011
Available from: Amazon 

It was a flash in the moonlight, a blur of motion like I’d never witnessed before. No human had the capacity to move like that. When I found myself face-to-face with him there in the meadow, I knew without a doubt that the journal was authentic. I knew that my grandfather hadn’t been crazy at all.

Because a foot away from me stood a vampire.

Sarah reads her grandfather's journal in stunned disbelief. What was once her grandfather's responsibility has passed to her father and now to her. She has become the Warden. Her life will never be the same.
This is a fresh and exciting new type of vampire story. The premise is nothing you've read before. While reading it was like I was actually there. Not many writers are able to capture that feeling but S.J Wright does it so well. Her characters are real and believable, like someone you've known for years. Sarah is strong, caring and loyal. I really enjoyed her character. The chemistry is almost instantaneous between her and Michael. He's not exactly someone you want to meet in the dark, and his personality and aura, I suppose, leap off the page. As soon as you read about him, you want more, even though you can feel he carries a darkness.
The only fault I found is that it wasn't long enough. I just wanted to keep reading. You'll want a copy if you're a fan of Sookie Stackhouse.