Thursday, November 8, 2012

Interview with Nicole Flockton!

Today on the blog I have debut author Nicole Flockton. Her contemporary romance Masquerade is available now. Read on to learn more about Nicole and Masquerade.

Welcome to Strange Candy Reviews, Nicole!
Hi!  Thanks for having me today!

For those who haven’t heard about your book, can you tell us a bit about it?
It’s about two people who meet at a Masquerade ball and the attraction between them is instant. They succumb to their attraction as they believed it would be for only one night. Fate has a different idea and they are thrown together in the high stress world of the Emergency Room. Not only do they have to keep the fact they spent the night together from their colleagues they have to deal with their attraction.

How did the idea for your story originate?
It started as an idea one New Year’s Eve. I was home sitting on the couch, as you do with young kids, and the idea of a couple of meeting when one gate-crashes the party. It evolved to a Masquerade Ball and the setting in the medical world.

Have you always wanted to write?
I think it’s always been in the back of my mind as I enjoyed creative writing at school. But it wasn’t until I had my daughter and started to contribute to a romance community forum that my love for writing fully evolved.

Does your writing schedule ever affect your family routine?
More like the other way around, the family routine always seems to interfere with my writing. What with homework, scout activities, sporting events etc.

Did you do any research for you book? Was there anything interesting you discovered?
No I didn't do a whole heap of research. When it came to the medical scenes one of the girls in my critique group, her mum is a nurse so she looked over my scenes and would make sure that I had everything medically correct.

What inspires you to write?
I get a scene or idea and that usually sparks the creative juices. I don’t tend to plot I start with the scene and work from there.

Do you write for yourself or for readers?
I think I started for myself but soon learned that readers enjoyment was far more important than me. I’d like to think my readers go on an emotional journey with the characters.

How exciting is it to have your book published?
It’s very exciting and still a little unbelievable. When I started on this journey it was always what I wanted but seemed like it was light years away. Now it’s here and it still feels surreal.

Is your book part of a series or stand alone? How many books will there be if it’s a series?
I’m planning two more stories from this book. So three in total but of course, sometimes characters pop up and then demand that you tell their story.

Do you try to reach a quota every day? How do you meet it?
I try and get a quota every day, sometimes it doesn't work and I give myself permission to accept that sometimes I can’t do everything! I will sit down and just keep going until I get the goal I've set myself.

Was there any inspiration from actors/models for your characters?
Not when I wrote the story I didn’t have any actors in mind, but now that you ask I think Antonio Sabato Jnr fits the vision I have of Alex.

Thanks for having me!!

After being humiliated by her fiancĂ©e, Sophie Franklyn has decided that getting involved with work colleagues and men in general isn’t for her. Now her focus is going to be on her career and her recent promotion. That is until at a New Year’s Eve masquerade ball, she meets a man that tempts her to question her choices.
Alex Scavoni is extremely dedicated to his job, so dedicated that his first marriage crumbled under the pressure of his dedication. Now he’s happily single, with a new job he’s excited to start. When he meets a masked Sophie at the ball, she fires desires in him he thought long dead. He spends a wonderful night with her, but wakes up alone.
The next time the two meet, it’s in the high pressure world of Emergency Room medicine where they must work side by side. While they deal with the stresses of the Emergency ward, they endeavor to keep their feelings for each other on a professional nature. When the desire that pushed them together that one night flares to life again, can they ignore them or will their one night together have consequences neither of them planned on?


On her very first school report her teacher said ‘Nicole likes to tell her own stories’.
It wasn’t until after the birth of her daughter and after having fun on the community board of that she finally decided to take the plunge and write a book.
Nicole joined the fabulous Romance Writers of Australia and eventually linked up with a great group of girls and formed “WINKGirls”
The stories she writes are contemporary romances with either a medical setting or in the boardrooms of high powered business. Nicole enjoys taking two characters and creating unique situations for them.
Apart from writing Nicole is busy looking after her very own hero – her wonderfully supportive husband, and her two fabulous kids. She also enjoys watching sports and, of course, reading.

You can find out more about Nicole on her website. You can like her page on Facebook and follow her on Twitter!

Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Guest Post by Anna Hackett!

Release your Inhibitions

Did you know the average person has about 45,000 negative thoughts PER DAY? That’s a lot of negativity. A lot of telling ourselves we can’t do that, we can’t risk that, we’re no good at that and dwelling on negative consequences that will probably never happen.

Have you ever wanted to just throw caution to the wind? Ever dreamed about what life would be like if you didn’t have that little voice telling you that you can’t? To be one of those wild people who leap and don’t worry about looking?

I think we all know one of those people. They are full of life, a little wilder and much more exciting. Mara in MIND RAIDER is just like that. It’s probably part personality, part because she’s a redhead and a lot because of what life has thrown at her.

There are times we all wish we could release our inhibitions, not worry about consequences and just dive into life. Sometimes we can let fear drive us to never step outside our comfort zone and take a risk.

There are a few easy ways to get a bit of increased confidence and to release just one or two inhibitions:

  • Dress sharp – put on that favorite shirt or killer pair of jeans you know you look fab in
  • Walk faster – studies show that people with a quicker stride feel more confident
  • Contribute to the conversation – find at least one small way to contribute to every conversation
  • Take a compliment with a smile – don’t be shy or self-deprecating, just smile

Maybe we can’t all be tough, over-confident mind raiders, but we can all take a risk or two.

Good luck taking a leap!


To learn more about Anna, visit her website,, follow her on Twitter or find her on Facebook.

Sunday, September 30, 2012

Interview & Giveaway with Shona Husk!

I have actually had this interview for nearly a year. I loved the Goblin King, so I thought I had better share this interview I did with Shona last year. You can win your choice of either The Goblin King, Kiss of a Goblin Prince or a pre-order of For the Love of a Goblin Warrior. Just fill out the Rafflecopter form at the end of this post.

Welcome to Strange Candy Reviews Shona.
For those who haven’t had the pleasure to read The Goblin King, can you tell us about it?
When Eliza summons the Goblin King for help, she gets more than what she bargained for; she gets a warrior who is losing his grip on his soul. Roan was cursed two thousand years ago and damned to the Shadowlands as a goblin. But breaking the curse will take more than a kiss.

Can you describe Roan and Eliza?
Roan is a tortured hero. Wrongly cursed and trying to hold on to what’s left of his soul he is almost at the end and preparing to give up. In our world he looks like a hideous goblin a face he’d never want Eliza to see.
Eliza is the woman who reminds him what it means to be human…but she has her own battle to fight before she can be free.    

There are three books planned for this series, can you give us a sneak peak?
The Goblin King is book 1 of the Shadowlands series (there is also a free prequel The Summons). Roan is the Goblin king, his brother Dai who was also cursed is the hero of book 2, Kiss of the Goblin Prince. There is a sneak peak at that book at the end of The Goblin King. Book 3, For the Love of a Goblin Warrior, is about Meryn’s struggle to regain his humanity after giving into the curse nearly two thousand years ago. Books 2 and 3 will be released in 2012.

Was there anything that really inspired you to write The Goblin King?
I love fairy tales, and The Goblin King has a few ‘Beauty and the Beast’ elements. The other major influence was my love of Roman Britain—from the Celtic point of view. Roan has little love for the Romans after growing up fighting them and then suffering under their rule.

Do you have any other planned releases this year(2011)?
I have one more release this year. Dark Vow is a western fantasy romance. It has a revenge quest, magic guns, vampiric horses and a very reluctant hero. It’s available now.

Do you have a favourite fictional hero?
So many! Between TV, film and books there are so many heroes out there. I like Hugh Jackman’s Wolverine, Harry Dresden from the Dresden files, Dean from Supernatural, the 10th Doctor (I’ve always loved Dr Who but David Tenant has been my favourite so far) and Rhodry from the Deverry series.

Was there any visual inspiration for Roan?
As a goblin, yes. When I was looking up goblins to find out any lore I was reading the descriptions and making notes. As a man, not really. I’m not even sure where the dreadlocks came from. He just strolled into my mind with hair filled with gold and amber beads. It wasn’t until the second draft of the book that I understood the significance of the beads.


Once Upon a Time…
A man was cursed to the Shadowlands, his heart replaced with a cold lump of gold. In legends, he became known as… The Goblin King.

For a favored few he will grant a wish. Yet, desperately clinging to his waning human soul, his one own desire remains unfulfilled… A Willing Queen.

But who would consent to move from the modern-day world into the realm of nightmares? No matter how intoxicating his touch, no matter how deep his valor, loving him is dangerous. And the one woman who might dare to try could also destroy forever his chance at a … Happily Ever After.

The Man of Her Dreams
He is like a prince in a fairy tale: tall, outrageously handsome, and way too dark for her own good. Amanda has been hurt before, though. And with her daughter's illness, the last thing she needs right now is a man. But the power of Dai King is hard to resist. And when he threads his hands through her hair and pulls her in for a kiss, there is no denying it feels achingly right.

In a Land of Nightmares
After being trapped in the Shadowlands for centuries with the goblin horde a constant threat, Dai revels in his new-found freedom back in the human realm. But even with the centuries of magic he's accumulated, he still doesn't know how to heal Amanda's daughter--and it breaks his heart. Yet for the woman he loves, he'd risk anything...including a return to the Shadowlands.

FOR THE LOVE OF A GOBLIN WARRIOR (released Jan 1st 2013)

Centuries ago, Meryn was thought to be utterly lost--all traces of his soul given up to the ravening goblin horde. But with the curse that enslaved him now broken, he must once again learn to walk in the realm of men.

Nurse Nadine Gilbert likes working the night shift to avoid her disturbing dreams, but her mysterious new patient looks hauntingly familiar. Meryn knows he doesn't deserve a second chance, but Nadine brings out his long-buried human side. Telling her the truth about his violent past could destroy their fragile trust. Could she ever believe in the love of a Goblin Warrior?

Author Shona Husk is a civil designer by day and an author by night. She lives in Western Australia and through history, myth and imagination she creates heroes that are armed and dangerous but have a heart of gold-sometimes literally.  For more information on Shona and The Goblin King, and where to download the FREE prequel, The Summons, please visit:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, August 25, 2012

Guest Post & Giveaway with Anna Hackett!

Everyday Adventure

I love action and adventure. I get a lot of ‘everyday’ adventure. Anyone with kids (I have a toddler) knows getting them organized to go anywhere is an adventure. Anything can happen and usually does.

You prepare with military precision – snacks, sippy cup, diapers/nappies, toys, Kleenex, wet wipes. But it doesn’t matter how well you prepare for your adventure, there is still some sort of disaster and what you need to deal with it is unreachable when one arm is full of wriggling toddler! You always survive – a little stressed and usually covered in unknown substances.

When it comes to enjoying a book, TV show or movie, I like BIG action – gunfire, explosions, life or death circumstances. On my last date night with my hubby, we watched Battleship. I LOVED it. The explosions were huge, the stakes were high and Alexander Skarsgard and Taylor Kitsch made an impact.

But what I really love is seeing people band together, in the worst circumstances, to try and win the day. I love seeing them work together, seeing them discover they have more inside them then they ever realized. This is so true for Bay and Sean in Time Thief.
Good action and adventure isn’t just about the heart-pounding chases or the big explosions…it’s about surviving the worst and coming out a better person.


Hunted for her ability to steal time, Bay North lives a life on the run. All she wants is to make the crime lord who slaughtered her family pay. But now he's set the ultimate hunter on her trail and Bay will need all her skills to carry out her revenge and survive.

Ex-Navy SEAL Sean Archer saw his team killed by a time thief in Afghanistan and came back a broken man. He's made a dark deal with a criminal to hunt down all time thieves and now Sean's tracked the wily Bay North to Denver where he plans to rid the world of one more dangerous mutation.

But during a shootout, hunter and hunted find themselves depending on each other for survival. Joining forces to exact payback by stealing a priceless treasure, their reluctant alliance shatters both their defenses. Can Bay find the courage to trust? And can Sean convince a woman honed in revenge that she can have more than vengeance, blood and killing?

To learn more about Anna, visit her website,, follow her on Twitter or like her on Facebook.

For the chance to WIN a download of Time Thief, please fill out the Rafflecopter form below!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, August 20, 2012

Harlequin Escape: Calling aspiring authors!

Harlequin Australia Opens its Digital Doors

Harlequin Australia, the leading publisher of romance and reading entertainment has announced the launch of its very own digital‐first imprint, Harlequin Escape. is now open to new manuscript submissions!

Authors – it’s your time to shine!

Do you have a burning idea that keeps you up at night?

A cross‐genre experiment looking for a home?

A rule‐breaking character lurking in your pages?

Now is the time to submit, as Harlequin Escape jumps head first into the innovation and freedom of digital publishing!
Harlequin Escape is an exciting new initiative to take Australian authors to a global audience. The call for open manuscript submissions will enable Harlequin Australia to expand its local author programme and unearth new Australian writing talent.
“For many, the traditional publishing model can be daunting and difficult to navigate. By creating a website where authors can openly and easily submit their work online, we believe we are opening up the publishing opportunity to many more potential new authors,” Managing Director of Harlequin Enterprises, Michelle Laforest, explained.

The signing up of Australian authors is an extension of Harlequin’s successful publishing programme. As experts in Romance for over 104 years, Harlequin can now leverage their experience in the world of digital publishing. Harlequin Escape will help discover new Australian talent and allow greater speed in delivering eBooks to market.
It’s an exciting time for publishing and with this initiative Harlequin will continue to lead the way in providing readers with new and interesting stories.
Visit for more information and submission guidelines. 

How awesome is this? You can visit their blog for submission guidelines and FAQ, which is at the bottom of their About Us page. I better get writing then and so should you!

Sunday, June 17, 2012

Review: Forbidden by Christina Phillips

Title: Forbidden (Forbidden book 1)
Author: Christina Phillips
Release date: September 7th 2010
Publisher: Berkley
Available from: Amazon
The Book Depository
Source: Bookstore

First in a new erotic historical series of magical heroines and sexy warriors. Carys knew from the moment she first spied on Maximus in his naked barbarian glory that he was a dangerous Roman centurion-his taut, battle-scarred flesh marking him as a fearless warrior. But her desire for him was as undeniable as it was illicit. Charged by his emperor to eliminate a clan of powerful Druids in Britain, Maximus never expects his mission to be thwarted by the clan's ethereal princess, Carys. Falling under her spell, he doesn't realize her true heritage-until he captures her heart as well as her body. Now Carys and Maximus must overcome the devastation of war and face the ultimate sacrifice if their forbidden love is to survive.


This is such a great book. A Roman centurion and Celtic princess in the time of Rome's occupation make for fantastic reading. Their two worlds have collided and instead of hating each other they fall in love. Add an evil Druid hell bent on destroying everything they both love and the magic of the Goddesses and you've got yourself one enchanting read. I'm so in love with Carys and Tiberius Valerius Maximus. They are such a well matched couple. Their chemistry is vibrant, intense and scorches the pages. Carys is independent, stubborn and defiant. She stands up for everything she believes and does whatever is in her power to save her people. Maximus is a powerful centurion who finds Carys fascinating and a little infuriating, especially when she doesn't back down and smiles in the face of his demands. If you're looking for a red-hot, blistering read with magic, clashing civilisations and romance then grab a copy of Forbidden. You will not be able to put it down! Now I want a Roman centurion of my own!